My 5th Dan grading

I’m proud to say that on December 19th 2012, I was awarded my 5th Dan by Shihan Phillip AJ Handyside.

Mr Handyside commenced his martial arts in the early 1960s with Richard Butterworth in Jujutsu/Judo. He then moved over to Shotokan Karate having seen a demo by Sadashige Kato in 1965. He joined the Karate Union Great Britain and travelled to the midland to train under Cyril Cummins under whom he took his Kyu grades. When Hirokazu Kanazawa left the KUGB, Mr Handyside went with him and took his 1st Dan with Shotokan Karate International. He then became the UK Vice President of Karate Budokan International and brought grandmaster Chew Choo Soot over to Preston who graded him 2nd Dan. At this time one of Mr Handyside’s senior students was Bob Carruthers (who had trained in Wado Ryu and Bujinkai under John Smith). Bob and Tommy Lonnergan ran a club under Mr Handyside’s Red Sun Karate (now Shotokan) and in the early 1980s Bob was awarded 1st Dan.

I actually took my grades up to 1st Dan in the 1990s under Steve Bullough who had in turn trained in Karate Budokan (previously Yoseikan) with Mike Newton who like Mr Handyside had trained under Chew Choo Soot. Steve had also taken lessons under Bob Carruthers and Phil Handyside but later moved over to freestyle Karate and was graded by Roy Stanhope.

In 2001 I graded to 2nd Dan under Bob Carruthers and in 2003 was invited to train with Bob’s old sensei Phil Handyside. I  remained friends with Mr Handyside and over 10 years later found him examining me for my 5th Dan in the same Dojo where Chew Choo Soot had taught him. Here are some pictures telling this story.

Budokan grandmaster Chew Choo Soot teaching in the Jubilee club, Preston

Budokan grandmaster Chew Choo Soot teaching in the Jubilee club, Preston in 1977

Bob Carruthers being awarded his 1st Dan circa 1983, Mr Handyside is seated far right

Bob Carruthers being awarded his 1st Dan circa 1983, Mr Handyside is seated far right

Mr Handyside (wearing hakama) on a seminar celebrating 40 years in martial arts. I am far right with Bob beside me

Mr Handyside (wearing hakama) on a seminar celebrating 40 years in martial arts. I am far right with Bob beside me

Bob with me and my students 2001

Bob with me and my students 2001

Bob and myself with Steve and Sean Chriscole resume the pose in 2010

Bob and myself with Steve and Sean Chriscole resume the pose in 2010

Mentor: With Shihan Handyside

Mentor: With Shihan Handyside

Start of my 5th Dan grading in the Jubilee club where Chew Choo Soo taught 35 years before

Start of my 5th Dan grading in the Jubilee club where Chew Choo Soo taught 35 years before

Basics

Basics

Chinese quan

Chinese quan

Hangetsu kata being tested

Hangetsu kata being tested

Sparring

Sparring

sparring3 sparring4 spin

Tired and awaiting my results

Tired and awaiting my results

5thdancert

5th Dan

5th Dan

Leave a Reply

