Instructor’s scrapbook and training timeline

Next year marks 15 years of Bushinkai, 20 years I have been formally studying “Shoto” Karate, 25 years since I joined my first club and around 30 years since I started learning informally (I’ll also be 35 years of age for another round number). I was recently asked to provide a detailed timeline of instruction, who I trained with and how long for, so hopefully this will suffice. I have also included pictures that may be of interest. I do not have many pictures from the early days simply because before the advent of digital cameras and smart phones pics were not taken as often.

I consider my main instructors over the years to have been my dad David Keegan (in life and in Dojo), my first Karate instructor Steve Bullough, My Shotokan teacher Bob Carruthers and now his teacher Phil Handyside, and also Reiner Parsons in Goju Ryu. For the purposes of clarity, since I have also been influenced by instructors I have trained with only on seminars, here is a breakdown of my training history. I have left everybody’s grades and titles off for brevity and because these can be found elsewhere on this site. The most recent grading I received wa 5th Dan under Mr Handyside, I graded on the mat for this in 2012, doing all kata from white belt to 5th Dan and fighting Kumite.

My training timeline is essentially this:

1985-1995: Informal training in basic Jujutsu, Karate and weapons with relatives
1995-2006: Training in Japanese martial arts (1995-2002) with the Bushido Academy (grading 1st Dan) and (1998-2006) Chinese martial arts with Beijing Lian Jie.
2001-2007: Training in traditional Karate, Kobudo and Japanese Jujutsu with KYR (grading 2nd Dan) and then IMAF (grading 3rd Dan)
2007-2012: As head of UKBF/Temaa, becoming founder member of EKF, attending seminars with IJJF and Dai Nippon and studying various martial arts (and grading 4th Dan)
2012-present: Grading 5th Dan under Shihan Handyside (Shobukan Karate) and joining Steve Rowe’s (Yang style Tai Chi master) Shikon

Bob Carruthers and Reiner Parsons: I've trained and graded under both of these karate teachers and learnt a lot from both

Bob Carruthers and Reiner Parsons: I’ve trained and graded under both of these karate teachers and learnt a lot from both

1985-1995 (Jujutsu, boxing)
Informal training with relatives including dad in basic Karate, Jujutsu, boxing and weapons (mostly swords). Boxing training at a gym in Wigan (possibly St Cuthberts) with tips from local boxer Lee Blundell. No grades taken. Other martial arts informally studied, fencing, archery, a litte Goju Ryu Karate. Relatives who studied martial or military combat include:

  • David Keegan (father) first studied Jujutsu in 1959, later Karate, Kobudo, Iaido, Tai Chi, Hsing-I
  • Paul Keegan (uncle) first studied Jujutsu in 1959, later Goju Ryu, member of To-Ken society
  • John Barrie (uncle) black belt in Shotokan early 1970s under Keinosuke Enoeda
  • Mei Kwan (aunt – ai yee) Yang style Taiji Quan, Hong Kong
  • Jim Nelson (grandfather). Taught boxing by his father and grandfather in 1930s, army in WWII
  • Bill Nelson (great uncle). Taught boxing by his father in 1930s, navy in WWII. Blackbelt in Kawaishi Ryu Jujutsu
  • Ted Molloy (great uncle). Master at arms, fought in Japan and China
  • Jimmy and Tommy Molloy (second cousins) British boxing champions
  • William Henry Nelson (great grandad). Taught boxing by his father August Nilsson in early 1900s, served in army in WWI
  • August Nilsson (great great grandad). Great grandson of Nils who went to Okinawa in 1780s, served with Swedish Navy
  • James Lawless (great grandad), served with army in WWI, streetfighter
  • Herve Briant great great great grandad, served in French Navy when Napolean III sent ships to Japan and China – Savatte the result
Skyner's Jujutsu: Established in 1928

This picture shows Skyner’s Jujutsu in Liverpool which was established in 1928 when Mikonosuke Kawaishi came to Liverpool from Kobe. My great uncle Bill Nelson who I was very close to trained there with the club instructor Gerry Skyner and gained a very early 1940s blackbelt. Bill had originally been taught “boxing” by his father William and grandfather August Nilsson, a Swedish sailor. August’s great great grandfather Nils, the patriarch of the family was also a sailor and went to Okinawa with the Swedish East India in 1778 where he worked with Tode Sakugawa. When my great uncle died I decided to look deeper into the history of both Kawaishi Ryu and Sakugawa Ryu and something I inheritted from my great uncle was a statue of a lady and a White Crane, representative of the arts of Fujian, China where Karate was created.

Martial arts have always been in my family. Here is my great uncle Bill's Jujutsu master Mikonosuke Kawaishi pictured in Liverpool in 1928

My great uncle Bill’s Jujutsu master Mikonosuke Kawaishi pictured in Liverpool in 1928

Bill's Jujutsu instructor Professor Skyner

Bill’s Jujutsu instructor Professor Skyner

Sakugawa Ryu: Eight generations of the Nilsson family

Sakugawa Ryu: Eight generations of the Nilsson family

Me aged about ten training at home

Me aged about ten training at home

My uncle John on Karate team with Harry Cook in Durham. Johns favourite kata was Tekki

My uncle John on Karate team with Harry Cook in Durham. Johns favourite kata was Tekki

i always maintained my interest in the Japanese arts too however. Here I am aged about 14 examining my wakizashi sword

Aged about 14 in 1993 with Japanese sword

pictured over 20 years ago aged about 13 with my Chinese broadsword. The Dao has always been a style I like

pictured over 20 years ago aged about 13 with Chinese broadsword.

Me and Dad with uncle John and ai yee Mei Kwan in an ornate Japanese garden

Me and Dad with uncle John and ai yee Mei Kwan in an ornate Japanese garden

Chinese broadsword given to me by my aunt Mei Kwan resembling that of her legendary ancestor General Kwan!

Chinese broadsword given to me by my aunt Mei Kwan resembling that of her legendary ancestor General Kwan!

Doing kata in my dad's garage/Dojo

Doing kata in my dad’s garage/Dojo wearing the gi uncle John brought me back from Japan

My aunt Mei Kwan, a yang style Taiji practitioner visiting Gyokusendo cave in Okinawa near to where Toshu Jutsu was founded. There they still refer to Karate as Toshu

My aunt Mei Kwan, a yang style Taiji practitioner visiting Gyokusendo cave in Okinawa near to where Toshu Jutsu was founded. There they still refer to Karate as Toshu

1995-2002 (Karate)
Training in the Bushido Academy with Steve Bullough studying Bushido (Karate, Aikido, Judo, Kobudo), competed in WKA, EMA, FSK. Trained mostly Sunday nights and Wednesday nights and at teacher’s house at weekends. won three golds, four silver and three bronze in competition (Karate, kickboxing and kata). Kata learned Heian 1-5, Tekki 1-3, Bassai Dai, Kushanku, Empi. Took every grading from 9th Kyu to 1st Dan. Left shortly before 2nd Dan.

Steve Bullough pictured in Japan. He was my sensei for around eight years and taught me Karate, Aikido, Judo and Kobudo

Steve Bullough pictured in Japan. He was my sensei for around eight years and taught me Karate, Aikido, Judo and Kobudo

96tournament

Competing in 1996

Training in Sensei's garden about 1998 (used on one of his old fliers)

Training in Sensei’s garden about 1998 (used on one of his old fliers)

bulloughdan2

Awarded blackbelt 1st Dan on December 19th 1999 after an eight hour grading

My old license book signed up to 1st Dan by Steve Bullough and 2nd Dan by Bob Carruthers and George Scarrott

My old license book signed up to 1st Dan by Steve Bullough and 2nd Dan by Bob Carruthers and George Scarrott

1998-2006 (Taiji Quan)
Training in Beijing Lian Jie mostly studying Yang style Tai Chi on a Tuesday night With Sifu Alan McDonnell, and sometimes Thursday nights with Eluned Sanderson, often one Sunday a month in Sun style and Chinese sword, taught some of the Hsing-I fists. Forms practiced included Yang long form (88), Yang short form (24), Sun style (97), Sword (32) and some others. Annual seminars with Li De Yin, one seminar with Zhang Xiu Mu and a few Euro competitions organised by Kam Lau.

Man of Yang style: David Keegan

Man of Yang style: David Keegan

Tai Chi training with my dad

Tai Chi training with dad David Keegan approx 1998

My Tai Chi family including Alan, Kath, Barbara, Carol and Pad

My Tai Chi family including Alan, Kath, Barbara, Carol and Pad

taiji99

Being taught the 88 Form (Yang style) by my dad in 1999

2001-2003 (Jujutsu, Karate)

Opened the Bushinkai Academy and joined the Kiai Yamabushi Ryu Bugei Remnei training with the chief instructors of the Ryu in classes, seminars, gradings and instructor training in Wigan, London and Ireland. I graded 2nd Dan Jujutsu in London (seven hour grading) and 2nd Dan Shotokan in Wigan (three hour grading). Kata learned from Bob: Wankan, Nijushiho, Meikyo, Jutte

  • Bob Carruthers (Shotokan Karate) -Trained with Bob mostly from 2001-2012 (from 1st Dan to 4th Dan)
  • Jaimie Lee-Barron (Jujutsu, Iaido, Jodo) – Graded 2nd Dan under Jaimie and took coaching training. Lots of weapons including Katana, Jo, Bo, Nunchaku
  • George Scarrott (Aikijujutsu) – Seminars
  • Joe Carslake (Jujutsu) – seminars
  • Andy Wilshaw (Jujutsu, Kenjutsu) – seminars
  • Steve Brennan (Koryu Uchinadi) – several classes, a good friend
Bob with me and my students 2001

Bob with me and my students 2001

Recreating the pose ten years later with some of the same students

Recreating the pose ten years later with some of the same students

With Bob at his wedding

With Bob at his wedding

during the Nidan grading from hell

during the 2nd dan Jujutsu grading from hell

Jaimie and George presenting me with my 2nd Dan jujutsu in 2002 in London - seven hour grading

Jaimie and George presenting me with my 2nd Dan jujutsu in 2002 in London – seven hour grading

2nd Dan Jujutsu menjo

2nd Dan Jujutsu menjo

During my 2nd dan Karate grading

During my 2nd dan Karate grading

With Bob, Joe, Jaimie and George in Ireland

With Bob, Joe, Jaimie and George in Ireland

Bob teaching me the hard way

Bob teaching me the hard way

Me blocking Bobs hiza geri with my nose

Me blocking Bobs hiza geri with my nose

Other seminars/odd classes attended in early 2000s:

  • Li De Yin (Tai Chi) – 3 or 4 seminars
  • Zhang Xiu Mu (Tai Chi) – 1 seminar
  • Fred Harrison (Karate) – 1 seminar (learnt Unsu, Bassai Sho, Kanku Sho)
  • Nejc Sever (Karate) – 1 seminar
  • Mike Newton (Karate) – 4 lessons

I also attended my first seminar with Shihan Phil Handyside (Karate) at this time who later graded me 5th Dan.

Me (far right), Bob next to me and Shihan Handyside in hakama in 2003

Me (far right), Bob next to me and Shihan Handyside in hakama in 2003

Good friends: Me with Shihan Handyside in 2012

Good friends: Me with Shihan Handyside in 2012

2003-2007 Kokusai Budoin IMAF

My main teacher from the IMAF days is Reiner Parsons who I have trained with a few times a year for over 10 years, as well as his sons.

As an IMAF instructor in about 2003

As an IMAF instructor in about 2003

Instructors I took instruction from in IMAF:

  • Reiner Parsons – Training and grading (3rd Dan) and later awarded Renshi after 4th Dan
  • Shizuya Sato (Seminar, book and syllabus as he was chief director and endorsed my 2nd Dan Jujutsu/Tanjo Jutsu which I had to adapt to his curriculum)
  • Mitsuhiro Kondo (Seminar and syllabus since he was our senior master in Europe and I had planned to take my 3rd Dan with him)
  • Tadanori Nobetsu (One seminar in person, his teachings transmitted via Reiner Parsons)
  • Jack Hearn (Jujutsu, Judo – several seminars)
  • Ray Walker (Judo – Private one to one tuition in Judo while at events)
  • Dave Wareing, Ric Benton, Colin Hutchinson (Judo – several seminars)
  • Various Iaido instructors including Steve Chriscole (we trained informally as I was his Karate/jujutsu instructor)
My IMAF license signed by Shizuya Sato and the book he gave me

My IMAF license signed by Shizuya Sato and the book he gave me

Nihon Jujutsu: Jack Hearn 8th Dan who told me I say ok too much, Mitsuhiro Kondo and Shizuya Sato

Nihon Jujutsu: Jack Hearn 8th Dan who told me I say ok too much, Mitsuhiro Kondo and Shizuya Sato

Simon with Hanshi Nobetsu, master of Feeding Crane

Simon with Hanshi Nobetsu, master of Feeding Crane

Simon and Dave during their 3rd Dan gradings with Reiner Parsons

Simon and Dave during their 3rd Dan gradings with Reiner Parsons

Ray Walker taught me the traditional kata of Judo kime no kata

Ray Walker taught me the traditional kata of Judo kime no kata

learning from Reiner

learning from Reiner

Simon during his 3rd Dan grading with Reiner Parsons

During my 3rd Dan grading with Reiner Parsons: main grading kata Niseishi and Seishan

Two of my IMAF 3rd Dan certificates from Reiner Parsons

Two of my IMAF 3rd Dan certificates from Reiner Parsons

my Budo brother Jonathan at the Kodokan next to Jigoro Kano's statue. He awarded me 2nd Dan in Judo

my Budo brother Jonathan at the Kodokan next to Jigoro Kano’s statue. He awarded me 2nd Dan in Judo


2006-2012 Karate Jutsu International, International Jujitsu Federation, Dai Nippon Butokukai, UKBF

Instructors studied with on seminars:

  • Terry Wingrove – Yawara and Karate Jutsu: Took me to Poland for two days, also trained with him in Birmingham, Wigan and Manchester and he invited me to the founding of the English Karate Federation.
  • Alan Ruddock – Aikido
  • Tony Christian – Karate
  • Allan Tattersall – Iaido and Jujutsu
  • Patrick McCarthy – Koryu Uchinadi

Also at this time became founder member of English Karate Federation, head of United Kingdom Budo Federation, awarded 4th dan by WKA and recognised by WKF.

It was great to be Terry Wingroves guest at Seni and meet masters like Tino Ceberano, Dennis Hanover, Alan Ruddock and Patrick McCarthy

BIRMINGHAM: It was great to be Terry Wingroves guest at Seni and meet masters like Tino Ceberano, Dennis Hanover, Alan Ruddock and Patrick McCarthy

Terry teaching in my Dojo

MANCHESTER: Terry teaching in my Dojo

With Alan Ruddock and Terry Wingrove in Poland

GDANSK: With Alan Ruddock and Terry Wingrove in Poland

training with Terry in Wigan

WIGAN: training with Terry at a masters seminar I organised

Terry putting the pain on my senior student Ben

ESSEX: Terry putting the pain on my senior student Ben

My senior students Dan (now 2nd Dan) and Ben (now 1st Dan) taking their brown belts with myself and Bob on the panel

My senior students Dan (now 2nd Dan) and Ben (now 1st Dan) taking their brown belts with myself and Bob on the panel

Good fun with Allan in his Dojo in 2007

ROCHDALE: Good fun with Allan in his Dojo in 2007

Uke for Allan in 2010

SCARBOROUGH: Uke for Allan in 2010

Patrick McCarthy: only met him in person the once but have been a huge fan of his work for over 15 years

Patrick McCarthy: only met him in person the once but have been a huge fan of his work for over 15 years

Bushinkai instructor Simon with world renowned Bubishi expert Hanshi Patrick McCarthy

Bushinkai instructor Simon with world renowned Bubishi expert Hanshi Patrick McCarthy

Patrick with one of my seniors students Ben

Patrick with one of my seniors students Ben

My Shotokan teacher Bob congratulating my Goju Ryu teacher Reiner on his 7th Dan

My Shotokan teacher Bob congratulating my Goju Ryu teacher Reiner on his 7th Dan

Demonstrating a leglock for Colin Hutchinson

Demonstrating a leglock for Colin Hutchinson

Craig Bailey Aikijujutsuand Colin Hutchinson - good friends in Budo for over 10 years

Craig Bailey (Aikijujutsu) and Colin Hutchinson (Judo) – good friends in Budo for over 10 years

invited on grading panel by Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido club

invited on grading panel by Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido club

Dan Sanchez and Jamie Tozer awarded the first Toshu Jutsu blackbelts in Bushinkai history by me and Bob Carruthers

Dan Sanchez and Jamie Tozer awarded the first Toshu Jutsu blackbelts in Bushinkai history by me and Bob Carruthers

My senior student and Bushinkai club instructor Dan Sanchez as Uke for Colin Hutchinson in Judo

My senior student and Bushinkai club instructor Dan Sanchez as Uke for Colin Hutchinson in Judo

2010-present

I focussed my attentions mostly on honing my system of Karate/Jujutsu but still kept learning. Some of the teachers who have influenced me in the last four years include:

    • Bob (this time a different art), Angelo and Rene Tongson – introduced me to Abaniko Tres Puntas
    • Dave (the old man is still teaching me Tai chi)
    • Phil Handyside – always a friend and mentor
    • John Dang – “my Kung Fu brother”
    • Steve Rowe – We have attended three of his seminars so far and can’t wait to go on more
Dave has trained with Bob Carruthers in Filipino stickfighting, Japanese Iaido, Okinawan Karate, and more. Bob awarded him 4th Dan in 2007

Simon, Bob and Dave

Simon and Dave working qin na

Simon and Dave working qin na

Simon training with John Dang who brings Muay Thai, Taekwondo and southern Chinese Tiger Boxing (Tang family) to Bushinkai

My Kung fu brother John Dang has introduced me to Muay Thai (he was taught by Sken), Jeet Kune Do, Kung Fu and Taekwondo

Be afraid....

On a grading panel with Shihan Handyside

in about 2010 Bob also introduced me to Abaniko Tres Puntas and his teachers Angelo and Rene

about to fight the Filipino way

Shihan Handyside 8th Dan visiting our Dojo

Shihan Handyside visiting our Dojo

shihan Handyside pays us a visit

shihan Handyside pays us a visit

Having just passed my 5th Dan

Having just passed my 5th Dan

Studying Filipino stick

Studying Filipino stick as grandmasters Rene and Angelo show how it’s done

I still keep up my studies of the Beijing Yang style forms, here I am doing the 24 Form:

Yang style family: Shikon head Steve Rowe, Metal Tiger headteacher David Keegan and Bushinkai chief instructor Simon Keegan

New friend: Sifu Steve Rowe

steve2 pushing

Simon having his Yang style corrected by Sifu Steve Rowe

Simon having his Yang style corrected by Sifu Steve Rowe

dave lesson

 

Main pic on this story is Simon with Liverpool Karate masters Brian McKinley, Terry O'Neill and Alfie Lewis

Simon with Liverpool Karate masters Brian McKinley, Terry O’Neill and Alfie Lewis

Here I am with two of my students Sam and Claus doing a Karate demo for Alfie Lewis, we didn’t have chance to rehearse so all the techniques were off the cuff. Terry O’Neill complimented me on the grappling techniques – a proud moment!

5th Dan

In 2014, I look back over many years training in the martial arts with my own teachers like Dave Keegan, Steve Bullough, Bob Carruthers, Steve Brennan, Phil Handyside and Reiner Parsons and i have many happy memories of training, but also meeting masters like Tadanori Nobetsu, Terry Wingrove, Shizuya Sato, Patrick McCarthy, Mitsuhiro Kondo, Terry O’Neill and now training when I can with people like Steve Rowe, the more I look for knowledge the more I realise the martial arts are very simple. I like to simplify Karate, Jujutsu and Quan Fa and teach a solid trunk not intricate branches.

Here I’m performing Kanku Dai (Kushanku) one of the most important Kata in our school:

Performing kata Meikyo

Performing kata Meikyo at a Japanese cultural expo

Simon Keegan 5th Dan and Kicki Holm 2nd Dan

One of my senior students Kicki Holm graded to 2nd Dan under Hirokazu Kanazawa

Pictured in 2014: Going back to my kickboxing roots with Muay Thai sparring:

photo 9 photo 18 photo 17 photo 16 photo 15

Simon Keegan:
Grades breakdown

5th Dan Shobukan Karate (Graded on the mat by headteacher PAJ Handyside 8th Dan) WUKF
4th Dan Renshi Shoto Ryu Karate/Jujutsu (Title authorised by Dai Nippon Butokukai national head Hanshi Allan Tattersall 9th Dan DNBK)
3rd Dan Nisseikai Karate – Graded on the mat with Kyoshi Reiner Parsons 7th Dan (who was graded by Tadanori Nobetsu and Ikuo Higuchi) IMAF
2nd Dan Nihon Jujutsu & Tanjo Jutsu – ratified by Shizuya Sato 10th Dan based on previous Jujutsu grade IMAF
2d Dan Judo – Awarded by J Kruger 8th Dan (Kodokwan, Aiichi Judo club Tokyo,  EJJU)
2nd Duan Taiji Quan – graded on the mat by my father Sifu David Keegan – I have currently done this style 15 years. We now come under Sifu Steve Rowe
2nd Dan Kiai Yamabushi Ryu Jujutsu – graded on the mat by J Lee-Barron and G Scarrott 8th Dan
1st Dan Bushido Freestyle – graded on the mat by Steve Bullough in 1999
grades from 9th Kyu to 1st Kyu also graded on the mat by S Bullough

Shihan Handyside teaching me

Shihan Handyside teaching me

Who taught the teachers?

Karate:

Bob Carruthers being awarded his 1st Dan circa 1983, Mr Handyside is seated far right

Bob Carruthers who graded me 2nd Dan being awarded his 1st Dan circa 1983, by Mr Handyside (seated far right) who graded me 5th Dan

My mentor Shihan Handyside with his mentor Hirokazu Kanazawa

My mentor Shihan Handyside with his mentor Hirokazu Kanazawa who graded him upto 1st Dan

My teacher Kyoshi Reiner Parsons with his teacher Hanshi Tadanori Nobetsu

My teacher Kyoshi Reiner Parsons with his teacher Hanshi Tadanori Nobetsu

Ben with Shihan Handyside 8th Dan

The circle continues: My longest serving student Ben with Shihan Handyside 8th Dan

Budokan grandmaster Chew Choo Soot teaching in the Jubilee club, Preston

Budokan grandmaster Chew Choo Soot teaching in the Jubilee club, Preston. In this Dojo he graded Mr Handyside 2nd Dan and over 30 years later, Mr Handyside graded me 5th Dan

Mentor: With Shihan Handyside

Mentor: With Shihan Handyside

Jujutsu:

With Bob, Joe, Jaimie and George in Ireland

Simon (far left) was awarded 2nd Dan in Jujutsu by Jaimie Lee-Barron and George Scarrott (the two in red)

George and Jaimie either side of their Jujutsu teacher Soke Brian Dossett who in turn was taught by master Ken Williams, a student of Kenshiro Abbe

George and Jaimie either side of their Jujutsu teacher Soke Brian Dossett who in turn was taught by master Ken Williams, a student of Kenshiro Abbe

 

SIFU DAVID KEEGAN TRAINING TIMELINE (Early dates are approximate)

Sifu David Keegan who runs the Metal Tiger Academy took his first martial arts lessons in 1959. He has studied the Yang style of Taiji Quan for 17 years. Here is a timeline of his studies.

1959-1962: Studying Jujutsu with Bernie Blundell (6th Dan British Ju Jitsu Association) at Kirkby, near Liverpool

Jim Blundell whose brother Bernie was Dave's first Jujutsu teacher in 1959

Jim Blundell whose brother Bernie was Dave’s first Jujutsu teacher in 1959

1960s: Researching various methods of Yoga, meditation and Taoism
1960s: Researching the Edwarding method of Shinden Fudo Ryu Jujutsu known as Bartitsu as well as stickfighting, including Irish Bata

Dave with 100 year old Irish fighting stick

Dave with 100 year old Irish fighting stick

Late 1960s: Informal training with members of the Red Triangle, including Peter Hignott whose Sensei Andy Sherry was the chief instructor of Karate Union Great Britain under master Enoeda

over 40 years ago Dave used to go training with Sensei Andy Sherry's Red Triangle in the park (as Peter Hignott 1st Dan was a good friend)

over 40 years ago Dave used to go training with Sensei Andy Sherry’s Red Triangle in the park (as Peter Hignott 1st Dan was a good friend)

Sifu David Keegan in Chinaalmost 30 years ago with best friend John Barrie, a 1st Dan under Sensei Enoeda

Sifu David Keegan in China almost 30 years ago with best friend John Barrie, a 1st Dan under Sensei Enoeda

Early 1970s: Taught Kobudo by a friend who was in his regiment in the Duke of Lancaster’s Own
1980s: Teaches son Simon basic Karate, Jujutsu, boxing and weapons. in 1988 goes to live and work in China.

The guy who came second must have mastered levitation! Europe Chinese Martial Arts Championships, Dave having a laugh with another competitor and the mayor of Shanghai

Presented with a trophy by the mayor of Shanghai

1998-2006: Joins the Beijing Lian Jie school of Chinese Internal martial arts where he trains for eight years with principal Alan McDonnell, Instructor Elenud Sanderson and attending annual seminars with Professor Li De Yin and competing at some championships

Dave with two of his Japanese teachers

Dave with two of his Japanese teachers

2002-2010: Under Kokusai Budoin begins study of Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido with Steve Chriscole as his primary instructor and also attending seminars with Keiji Tose, Hara, Yoshida, Elizabeth Noissier, John Lovatt and Hanshi Allan Tattersall.

awarded a hand painted kanji by Hanshi Tattersall 9th Dan

awarded a hand painted kanji by Hanshi Tattersall 9th Dan

2006 – present: Studying several different martial arts informally and on seminars including:

  • Nisseikai Karate and White Crane Kung Fu with Reiner Parsons who graded him 3rd Duan
  • Researching other forms of Kung Fu including Shaolin and Ba Duan jin
  • Karate and Escrima with Bob Carruthers who graded him 4th Duan
Teaching at Empire Judo and Iaido club

Teaching at Empire Judo and Iaido club

  • Myoshin Ryu Iaido with Hanshi Allan Tattersall
  • Yang style Tai Chi with Sifu Steve Rowe
David Keegan demo with Japanese sword

David Keegan demo with Japanese sword

Bushinkai members on a Wigan course with Steve Rowe 8th Dan

Bushinkai members on a Wigan course with Steve Rowe 8th Dan, Dave is kneeling at the front with Bushinkai students Graham and Ben

Leave a Reply

