Lost book of Kushanku: The research Journey

The Lost Book of Kushanku which you can read and keep totally free here, is a groundbreaking new book in the field of Karate research. The hypothesis of the book is that Shuri Karate (ie Shotokan, Shorin Ryu) were not derived from White Crane but from the so called Wu Tang boxing methods of Bazi Quan, Hsing-I Quan and Taiji Quan and furthermore the legendary Karate pioneer Kushanku was actually a practitioner of these arts who wrote a well renowned classics thesis on the martial arts which is presented in the study.

This page details some of the author’s training experiences (aside from years of academic research) that contributed to this work.

The Lost Book of Kushanku has already won accolades all over the world and this is just another step in a fascinating journey of discovery in the true Karate and Jujutsu method we call Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu.

Primary Sources of learning

Two of the masters who have inspired my martial arts studies are Hirokazu Kanazawa (10th Dan IMAF Shotokan) and Tadanori Nobetsu (9th Dan IMAF Goju Ryu). Kanazawa Sensei taught my mentor Shihan Handyside and Nobetsu taught by teacher Reiner Parsons. But why single out these two in particular? Kanazawa was not only a direct student of masters Funakoshi and Nakayama, he also sought out answers in styles like Shorin Ryu training with masters like Chosin Chibana – but he also studied Yang style Tai Chi. When I joined IMAF as a 2nd Dan Shotokan, Kanazawa Hanshi was head of the Shotokan division. Although I have not been a student of his myself, he taught my teacher and I often refer to him as a the definitive method of Shotokan. Nobetsu Hanshi may not be as famous as say Gogen Yamaguchi or Morio Higaonna, but what I like about his Goju Ryu method is that he also masters Feeding Crane (White Crane) Kung Fu, under the Taiwanese family who were guardians of the Bubishi.

Kanazawa Hanshi and Nobetsu Hanshi performing kata:

Note: Simon graded to 2nd Dan with Bob Carruthers, and 5th Dan with Bob’s teacher Phil Handyside, who in turn trained and graded under Kanazawa Hanshi. Simon’s IMAF grades were recognised under Kanazawa’s division and Bushinkai national instructor Kicki Holm also trained and graded under Kanazawa Hanshi.

Simon graded to 3rd Dan and subsequently Renshi (after 4th dan) with Reiner Parsons who was himself graded up to 5th Dan by Tadanori Nobetsu.

My mentor Shihan Handyside with his mentor Hirokazu Kanazawa

My mentor Shihan Handyside with his mentor Hirokazu Kanazawa

My Nisseikai teacher Reiner Parsons and Tadanori Nobetsu who combined Goju Ryu with Taiwanese Feeding Crane

My Nisseikai teacher Reiner Parsons and Tadanori Nobetsu who combined Goju Ryu with Taiwanese Feeding Crane

Simon with Hanshi Nobetsu, master of Feeding Crane

Simon with Hanshi Nobetsu, master of Feeding Crane

Other influential sources

Steve Bullough pictured in Japan. He was my sensei for around eight years and taught me Karate, Aikido, Judo and Kobudo

Steve Bullough pictured in Japan. He was my sensei for around eight years from 1995 and taught me Karate, Aikido, Judo and Kobudo. from him I learnt the katas Taikyoku 1-6, Heian 1-5, Tekki, Bassai, Empi and Kushanku

Tai Chi training with my dad

Tai Chi training with my dad in about 1997

Dave and Simon practising the Yang style long form in Britanny in 1999

Practising the Yang style long form in Britanny in 1999

The author performing Chinese Taii sword (Jian) at Euro Wushu championships

Performing Chinese Taii sword (Jian) at Euro Wushu championships

bulloughdan2

Awarded Blackbelt by Steve Bullough 1999

Before WKA fight 1999

Before WKA fight 1999

Bob with me and my students 2001

I established the Bushinkai Academy in 2000 and Bob Carruthers (then 4th Dan now 7th dan) became my mentor. At the back is Andy Russell 1st Kyu whose dad i used to train with; Steve Chriscole then 4th Kyu now 3rd Dan who set up Kata Unlimited magazine, a journal that included writers like myself, Patrick McCarthy, Bill Burgar, Reiner Parsons, Rick Clarke and Iain Abernathy

Bob teaching me the hard way

Bob teaching me some years later. He taught me various kata including Wankan, Nijushiho, Jutte and Meikyo and through him I also learnt Bassai Sho, Kanku Sho and Unsu

With Bob, Joe, Jaimie and George in Ireland

Me and Bob with Jujutsu teachers Joe Carslake, Jaimie Lee-Barron (who gave me the name Bushinkai and graded me 2nd Dan) and George Scarrott  in Ireland

Mr Handyside (wearing hakama) on a seminar celebrating 40 years in martial arts. I am far right with Bob beside me

Bob Carruthers and I on a seminar with Shihan Handyside in 2003

Steve Brennan (left) - introduced me to a lot of new concepts

I had read Hanshi Patrick Mccarthy’s work since 1995 and in 2001 Sensei Steve Brennan (left) introduced me to his Tegumi Renszku two man flow drills

Simon was accepted into Kokusai Budoin, Japan. His grade of 2nd Dan was endorsed by Shizuya Sato, he also trained under Mitsuhiro Kondo, was graded under Hirokazu Kanazawa and Ikuo Higuchi's Shotokan and Shotokai divisions and his license was signed by the hereditary Shogun, Mr Tokugawa Yasuhisa

Clockwise from top left: Shizuya Sato, Mitsuhiro Kondo, Hirokazu Kanazawa, Ikuo Higuchi, Tadanori Nobetsu, Tokugawa Yasuhisa. I joined IMAF after a seminar with Kondo and was accepted in Sato’s Jujutsu division and Kanazawa’s Shotokan division as a 2nd Dan. I trained and graded in Nisseikai with Reiner Parsons and also trained with Nobetsu his teacher. reiner had been awarded his 6th dan by Ikuo Higuchi who was the headteacher of Shoto Ryu (old Shotokan) his teacher being Makoto Gima, Funakoshi’s first blackbelt and the first Shotokan 10th Dan. I moved over to the Shoto Ryu division and began to research Funakoshi’s sensei’s original methods.

Karate and white crane master Nobetsu. Simon is pictured in the front row, training in 2003

Karate and white crane master Nobetsu. Simon is pictured in the front row next to his teacher Reiner, training in 2003

Dave with two of his Japanese teachers

My dad with two of his Japanese teachers Yoshida and Tose

Although Yang style was the main Tai chi style I learnt, I also learnt Sun Style on a less regular basis for a few years. A very interesting style comprised of three arts Tai Chi, Hsing-I and Pakua. [Note picture for illustrative purposes only]

Although Yang style was the main Tai chi style I learnt, I also learnt Sun Style on a less regular basis for a few years. A very interesting style comprised of three arts Tai Chi, Hsing-I and Pakua. [Note picture for illustrative purposes only]

A great image taken by my student and pro photographer Jamie that was destined for The Lost Book of Kushanku

kushankucover

A great image taken by my student and pro photographer Jamie that was destined for The Lost Book of Kushanku

With Alan Ruddock and Terry Wingrove in Poland

Terry Wingrove is not only the UK’s senior Karateka (commencing in 1956) he also studied various methods of Karate Jutsu including those from Kanken Toyama and Uechi Ryu and Yawara with Sato Kimbei, a grandmaster of styles such as Yagyu Shingan Ryu. Terry opened a lot of doors for me, leading to me meeting masters like Patrick Mccarthy, Allan Tattersall, Alan Ruddock and becoming a founder member of the English Karate Federation

Bushinkai instructor Simon with world renowned Bubishi expert Hanshi Patrick McCarthy

With world renowned Bubishi expert Hanshi Patrick McCarthy

Patrick McCarthy: only met him in person the once but have been a huge fan of his work for over 15 years

Patrick McCarthy tweaking my Tegumi Renzoku drills

Patrick with one of my seniors students Ben

Patrick with one of my seniors students Ben

Bushinkai's Karate system featured in Traditional Karate magazine

As well as formalising Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu in 2007, I also devised the Bushinkai Method, a scientific approach to self defence that could be applied to any combat based martial arts

invited on grading panel by Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido club

invited on grading panel by Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido

Simon training with John Dang who brings Muay Thai, Taekwondo and southern Chinese Tiger Boxing (Tang family) to Bushinkai

John Dang: As well as having trained most of his life in Muay Thai, Taekwondo and Jeet Kune Do, John Dang is also a descendant of the Tang family of Tiger Boxers of Guangzhou. Here I am assisting him as we teach Muay Thai techniques to MMA fighters

Simon training in Escrima with Rene Tongson, Filipino grandmaster of Abaniko Tres Puntas

Ttraining in Escrima with Rene Tongson, Filipino grandmaster of Abaniko Tres Puntas

Mentor: With Shihan Handyside

With Shihan Handyside 10 years after first training with him

Basics

During my 5th Dan grading in the same hall where Chew Choo Soot taught

Sparring

Sparring during my 5th Dan grading

Start of my 5th Dan grading in the Jubilee club where Chew Choo Soo taught 35 years before

5th Dan grading

Bushinkai's Karate method Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu featured in Martial Arts Illustrated magazine

Bushinkai’s Karate method Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu featured in Martial Arts Illustrated magazine. i was interviewed by Alfie Lewis

Main pic on this story is Simon with Liverpool Karate masters Brian McKinley, Terry O'Neill and Alfie Lewis

With Liverpool Karate masters Brian McKinley, Terry O’Neill and Alfie Lewis after doing a demo for Alfie

meikyo

Demo at Doki Doki Japanese festival

 

pushing

Steve Rowe re-affirming my belief that Karate and Tai chi are linked

5th Dan

2014: Launching The Lost Book of Kushanku

Leave a Reply

