Remembering a real warrior

Tomorrow would have been the 91st birthday of my grandad Jim Nelson, it is also the 70th anniversary of the Normandy landings (D-Day). He turned 21 the day he landed on Sword Beach.

Jim served with the East Yorkshire regiment. His brother Billy (later a Jujutsu blackbelt) served in the Merchant Navy where he also saw active service. His brothers in law Ted and Jim Molloy also served in the Royal Navy with Ted holding the rank of Master at Arms and serving in Japan and China.

Yesterday the Daily Mirror published this article about Jim’s D-Day exploits and I’m so proud that I could tell his story,

Jim and Billy’s dad William Henry was also a veteran, serving with the King’s Liverpool regiment in World War I and Jim and Ted Molloy’s (and their sister my nan) father Edward served in the first world war and the Boer War.

What has this got to do with martial arts? Well nothing really, I just wanted to share the story of one of the most remarkable men I’ve ever met.

Charles James Nelson 1923-2005

Simon's grandad Jim Nelson

Simon’s grandad Jim Nelson

Me and my grandad

Me and my grandad

Jewellery box mentioned in the Mirror article together with Jim's four medals

Jewellery box mentioned in the Mirror article together with Jim’s four medals

 

Leave a Reply

