Martial memories: Instructor’s training

Bushinkai chief instructor Simon Keegan gives his most complete pictured training history to date, over almost 30 years.

Honoured to meet Master Fumio Demura

Simon pictured with master Fumio Demura on a seminar

Current positions held:

Chief instructor: Bushinkai Academy (Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu)
Headteacher: Sakugawa Ryu
5th Dan: Shobukan Karate (Shikon, Karate England, World Union of Karatedo Federations, IKU, Kokusai Budoin)
4th Dan: Freestyle Karate/Jujutsu (WKA, BJF, EJJU)
3rd Dan: Judo honourary (EJJU, Kodokwan, Aichi University Judo Club)
2nd Dan: Nihon Jujutsu (Kokusai Budoin)
2nd Duan: Taiji (Metal Tiger Academy)

Me aged about 8 with Nunchaku

About 1987: Aged about 8

nunchaku

28 years later, still not bored with nunchaku

1985-1995: Informal childhood training

Me aged about ten training at home

Aged about 10 training at home

I also became interested in boxing when I was about 10. One fighter who helped me out was Lee Blundell

Before he turned professional, Lee Blundell was a hod-carrier for the builder that lived next door to my grandparents and when I trained in their back garden he used to help me with my technique.

pictured over 20 years ago aged about 13 with my Chinese broadsword. The Dao has always been a style I like

about 12 with Chinese broadsword.

My aunt Mei Kwan, a yang style Taiji practitioner visiting Gyokusendo cave in Okinawa near to where Toshu Jutsu was founded. There they still refer to Karate as Toshu

My aunt Mei Kwan, a yang style Taiji practitioner visiting Gyokusendo cave in Okinawa near to where Toshu Jutsu was founded. There they still refer to Karate as Toshu

Sifu David Keegan in Chinaalmost 30 years ago with best friend John Barrie, a 1st Dan under Sensei Enoeda

My dad David Keegan in China almost 30 years ago with my uncle John Barrie, a 1st Dan under Sensei Enoeda

Me and Dad with uncle John and ai yee Mei Kwan in an ornate Japanese garden

Many years later, me and Dad with uncle John and Mei Kwan in an ornate Japanese garden

My dad’s Dojo in the garage when he returned from the Far East

dojo2

1995-2002 (Karate)
Training in the Bushido Academy with Kyoshi Steve Bullough studying Bushido (Karate, Aikido, Judo, Kobudo)

Steve Bullough pictured in Japan. He was my sensei for around eight years and taught me Karate, Aikido, Judo and Kobudo

Steve Bullough as a 5th Dan pictured in Japan. He was my sensei for around eight years and taught me Karate, Aikido, Judo and Kobudo. He had studied various styles including Shotokan, Shobukan, Yoseikan/Budokan, Goju Ryu, Wado Ryu, Judo and Ki Aikido. He trained in Shukokai Karate with Roy Stanhope

F 1993-07 Cov

96tournament

Me competing at the FSK in 1996

Paul, Daniel and Steve at the same event

Paul, Daniel and Steve at the same event

96KICK

Practising kicks in about 1996 or 97

96SWORD

Around 1997 with katana – I don’t think i’ve changed much in 18 years

96TA

1996 the cavalry’s arrived (Trooper 24930904). Serving in the Duke of Lancaster’s Own was a valuable experience in our counter-terrorism training, rifle markmanship, fitness and urban warfare

Me, Steve and Chris

Me, Steve and Chris

Me (far end of pic) as a brown belt in 1997 training at the Bushido Academy

Me (far end of pic) as a brown belt in 1997 training at the Bushido Academy

Training in Sensei's garden about 1998 (used on one of his old fliers)

Training in Sensei’s garden about 1998 (used on one of his old fliers)

98steve

Practising a sword kata based on Bassai Sho in 1997 (see issue 5 of Martial Arts Guardian)

Practising a sword kata based on Bassai Sho in 1997 (see issue 5 of Martial Arts Guardian)

Before I started formally studying Tai Chi I had already experimented with forms like the Ba Duan Jin, here's I'm incorporating the archery movements with a Tachi form

Before I started studying Tai Chi I had already experimented with forms like the Ba Duan Jin, here’s I’m incorporating the archery movements with a Tachi (cavalry katana) form

Nito (twin swords) in 1998 as a brown belt

Nito (twin swords) in 1998 as a brown belt

kyu1 kyu2

1st DAN: 1999

bulloughdan2

Awarded blackbelt 1st Dan on December 19th 1999 after an eight hour grading

99KICKBOXER

Before a WKA kickboxing match 1999

2000bucking

Me and Steve on/off the bucking bronco for Dojo open day

2000trophies

2000 with some of my tropheys

99punch

 

1stdan

1999-2006 (Taiji Quan)
Training in Chinese Internal Martial Arts

Tai Chi training with my dad

Training with dad approx 1999

Dad showing me a few tricks

Dad showing me a few tricks

My Tai Chi family including Alan, Kath, Barbara, Carol and Pad

My Tai Chi family including Alan, Kath, Barbara, Carol and Pad

taiji99

Being taught the 88 Form (Yang style) by my dad in 1999

taichicomp

Me and dad at a competition

taichidad

Me and dad with Chinese swords (Jian) in about 2003

taichidadaward

The invisible man did well to come second in this competition

taichidadsword

Dad doing Yang style sword

taichisword

Me managing not to fall over doing sword

Doing Yang style in competition. I'm not going quickly the camera was on the wrong shutter speed

Doing Yang style in competition. I’m not going quickly the camera was on the wrong shutter speed

2000-2003 (Jujutsu, Karate)

I began teaching in 2000 (now the Bushinkai Academy) while training myself in Kiai Yamabushi Ryu Jujutsu (instructors including Hanshi J Lee-Barron) and Seiki Juku Karate (instructors including Kyoshi R Carruthers and S Brennan). Bob Carruthers was my Sensei for around 10 years.

First club leaflet in 2001

First club leaflet in 2001

Teaching Jujutsu in 2001

Teaching Jujutsu in 2001

2001iaido

Teaching Batto Jutsu/Iaido in 2001

2001teachingclass

Teaching Karate in 2001

2001throw

Aikido throw kokyunage

IMG_8945

Kyoshi Robert Carruthers was my primary Karate instructor from 2001-2012. He began his Karate training in 1972 with Shotokan and Taekwondo in Cornwall. Then in 1974 he travelled to Plymouth to study Bujinkai Karate, a new style comprised of Wado Ryu and Preying Mantis devised by John Smith and Danny Connor. Bob started teaching as a purple belt and then returned to Wigan where he, Tommy Lonergan and Billy Duckworth ran a Shotokan club. In the late 1970s, they joined PAJ Handyside’s Shobukan organisation, under Kanazawa Sensei’s SKI at the time. After breaking from Shobukan Bob joined UKASKO and then KYR where I met him. In the time I trained with him, he was also studying/teaching Escrima, Karate Jutsu and Iaido. He introduced me to Shihan Handyside in 2003

Bob with me and my students 2001

Bob Carruthers with me and my students 2001

Recreating the pose ten years later with some of the same students

Recreating the pose ten years later with some of the same students. The tiny orange belt in the top pic is the tall black belt in the bottom pic

In Ireland with Bob, Jaimie, George, Joe, Terry and Tom

In Ireland with Bob, Jaimie, George, Joe, Terry and Tom. I am back row centre next to Tom Blackledge

2001 2ND DAN

during the Nidan grading from hell

during the 2nd dan Jujutsu grading from hell

Jaimie and George presenting me with my 2nd Dan jujutsu in 2002 in London - seven hour grading

Jaimie and George presenting me with my 2nd Dan jujutsu in London – seven hour grading

2nd Dan in the Bugei Ju Hapan (18 martial arts). They are: 1) Koppo Jutsu.  2) Koshi jutsu  3) Karate jutsu,  4) Atemi jutsu  5) Aikijutsu  6) Ju Tai Jutsu. 7) Bo Jutsu, 8) Jo jutsu 9) Iai jutsu 10) KenJutsu. 11) Tanto, 12) Jujutsu 13) So jutsu 14) Gunryaku Hei ho Jutsu 15) Inton 16) Gotonpo 17) Tenchijin 18) Kusari Jutsu

2nd Dan in the Bugei Ju Hapan (18 martial arts). They are:
1) Koppo Jutsu.
2) Koshi jutsu
3) Karate jutsu,
4) Atemi jutsu
5) Aikijutsu
6) Ju Tai Jutsu.
7) Bo Jutsu,
8) Jo jutsu
9) Iai jutsu
10) KenJutsu.
11) Tanto,
12) Jujutsu
13) So jutsu
14) Gunryaku Hei ho Jutsu
15) Inton
16) Gotonpo
17) Tenchijin
18) Kusari Jutsu

bob2002

With my Shotokan sensei, Bob Carruthers

bobclass

In class. I’m the one in the bottom pic about to do a Gedan Barai

bobknee

Me blocking Bob’s kneestrike with my nose

elbow

Bob going in with the Empi

elbow2

Me teaching in 2002. God I miss that ponytail

During my 2nd dan Karate grading

During my 2nd dan Karate grading (I was already 2nd Dan Jujutsu)

2ndka

With Bob, Joe, Jaimie and George in Ireland

2002: With Bob, Joe Carslake, Jaimie Lee-Barron and George Scarrott in Ireland

Jaimie-Lee Barron teaching us Kenjutsu

Jaimie-Lee Barron teaching us Kenjutsu

I also attended my first seminar with Shihan Phil Handyside (Foudner of Shobukan Karate) at this time who 10 years later graded me 5th Dan.

Shihan Handyside

Shihan Handyside – Karate legend and my friend and mentor since 2003. He started studying martial arts in 1963 in Jujutsu with R Butterworth then Shotokan in 1965 with Sadashige Kato, he also trained with Tomita, Kobara, Cummins and Hirokazu Kanazawa. In 1979 he changed from Shotokan to Budokan with grandmaster Chew Choo Soot.

Me (far right), Bob next to me and Shihan Handyside in hakama in 2003

Me (far right), Bob next to me and Shihan Handyside in hakama in 2003

Shobukan family: Me, Frank Williams, Nejc Sever, Chris Ratcliffe, Peter Lee Bibby, Bob Carruthers, Mark Pete

Shobukan family: Me, Frank Williams, Nejc Sever, Chris Ratcliffe, Peter Lee Bibby, Bob Carruthers, Mark Pete

Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu (style of the month in Issue 1 of MAG) in 2003 with Renshi John Lovatt a student of Iwata Sensei. Soon after I joined IMAF (Kokusai Budoin)

Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu (style of the month in Issue 1 of MAG) in 2003 with Renshi John Lovatt a student of Iwata Sensei. Soon after I joined IMAF (Kokusai Budoin)

imaflogo

2003-2007 Kokusai Budoin IMAF

My main teacher from the IMAF days is Reiner Parsons who I trained with fairly regularly for over 10 years, as well as his sons.

imafsai

In my local paper 2003

Bushinkai chief instructor Simon with his 2nd Dan in IMAF in Kanazawa Hanshi's Shotokan division in 2003

2nd Dan in IMAF in Kanazawa Hanshi’s Shotokan division in 2003 and 2nd Dan in Sato Sensei’s Nihon Jujutsu division

As an IMAF instructor in about 2003

As an IMAF instructor in about 2003. Back row from left Julia Quick – Judo; Reiner, Derrick, Graham Parsons – Goju Ryu; Rik – Judo; another Judo instructor. From row – myself – Karate & Jujutsu; John Lovatt – Iaido; Dave Wareing – Judo; Colin Hutchinson – Judo; Gem – Goju Ryu; Ray Walker – Judo; a Goju Ryu student

A lively IMAF course. I am far right

A lively IMAF course. I am far right

nihon

My dad with his regular Iaido club

My dad with his regular Iaido club

Shizuya Sato, 10th Dan Nihon Jujutsu and chief director of Kokusai Budoin trained with Ohtsuka Sensei

Shizuya Sato, 10th Dan Nihon Jujutsu and chief director of Kokusai Budoin

sato

The late Mr Sato on our Dojo shomen

My IMAF license signed by Shizuya Sato and the book he gave me

My IMAF license signed by Shizuya Sato and the book he gave me

Nihon Jujutsu: Jack Hearn 8th Dan who told me I say ok too much, Mitsuhiro Kondo and Shizuya Sato

Nihon Jujutsu: Jack Hearn, Mitsuhiro Kondo and Shizuya Sato were instructors I learned from

Kokusai Budoin Chief Director Tadanori Nobetsu

Kokusai Budoin Chief Director Tadanori Nobetsu

Simon's teacher Kyoshi Reiner Parsons 7th Dan with his teacher Hanshi Tadanori Nobetsu 9th Dan IMAF

Simon’s teacher Kyoshi Reiner Parsons 7th Dan with his teacher Hanshi Tadanori Nobetsu 9th Dan IMAF

Simon with Hanshi Nobetsu, master of Feeding Crane

with Hanshi Nobetsu, master of Feeding Crane

Nobetsu

Learning from Nobetsu

my dad with Keiji Tose and Yoshida on a seminar in France

my dad with Keiji Tose and Yoshida on a seminar in France

tokugawa

I was one of the first people in the UK to view the treasures of Tokugawa Ieyasu

tokugawa2

Tokugawa Yasuhisa (with Mr Sato and Tose behind him) addresses IMAF

Teaching kime no kata (traditional Judo kata)

Teaching kime no kata (traditional Judo kata)

2004: 3RD DAN 

Simon during his 3rd Dan grading with Reiner Parsons

During my 3rd Dan grading with Reiner Parsons: main grading kata Niseishi and Seisan

Simon and Dave during their 3rd Dan gradings with Reiner Parsons

After 3rd Dan grading with Reiner Parsons

3rd

Ray Walker taught me the traditional kata of Judo kime no kata

Judo teacher Ray Walker taught me the traditional kata of Judo kime no kata as well as my most prized throw – the Michigami Tai Otoshi, taught to him by Haku Michigami

learning from Reiner

learning from Reiner

2005: International Ju Jitsu Federation (Grades at the time 3rd Dan Karate, 2nd Dan Jujutsu)

From 2005 I was associated with Hanshi Terry Wingrove who introduced me to the likes of Hanshi Allan Tattersall, Hanshi Patrick McCarthy, Shihan Alan Ruddock and I also accompanied him to Poland, to Seni and to the founding of the English Karate Federation.

It was great to be Terry Wingroves guest at Seni and meet masters like Tino Ceberano, Dennis Hanover, Alan Ruddock and Patrick McCarthy

BIRMINGHAM: It was great to be Terry Wingroves guest at Seni and meet masters like Tino Ceberano, Dennis Hanover, Alan Ruddock and Patrick McCarthy

Terry teaching in my Dojo

MANCHESTER: Terry teaching in my Dojo

With Alan Ruddock and Terry Wingrove in Poland

GDANSK: With Alan Ruddock and Terry Wingrove in Poland

Training with Terry Wingrove

Training with Terry Wingrove

Training with Alan Ruddock

Training with Alan Ruddock

The late Alan Ruddock (left) with his teacher Morihei Ueshiba

The late Alan Ruddock (far left) with his teacher Morihei Ueshiba

training with Terry in Wigan

WIGAN: training with Terry at a masters seminar I organised

Terry putting the pain on my senior student Ben

ESSEX: Terry putting the pain on my senior student Ben

3rddanbeach 3rddansword

2007: 4TH DAN (FOUNDING OF HAKUDA KEMPO TOSHU JUTSU)

Class of 2007

Class of 2007

TATT

Hanshi Allan Tattersall (Soke of Myoshin Ryu, direct from the Dai Nippon Butokukai), who studied Takenouchi Ryu Jujutsu with the Soke in Japan endorsed my association and its awarding of shogo

4th

tattthrow

Hanshi Tattersall throwing me

Good fun with Allan in his Dojo in 2007

ROCHDALE: Good fun with Allan in his Dojo in 2007

tattpain

This isn’t going to hurt is it Allan?

Uke for Allan in 2010

SCARBOROUGH: Uke for Allan in 2010. My pants were nowhere near this shiny in real life

Reiner teaching my students in 2008

Reiner teaching my students in 2008

Bushinkai's Karate system featured in Traditional Karate magazine

Bushinkai’s Karate system featured in Traditional Karate magazine

Patrick McCarthy: only met him in person the once but have been a huge fan of his work for over 15 years

Patrick McCarthy: only met him in person the once but have been a huge fan of his work for over 15 years

Bushinkai instructor Simon with world renowned Bubishi expert Hanshi Patrick McCarthy

with world renowned Bubishi expert Hanshi Patrick McCarthy

Patrick with one of my seniors students Ben

Patrick with one of my seniors students Ben

I was honoured to be able to feature Hanshi McCarthy years later in Martial Arts Guardian.

2010: RENSHI (POLISHED TEACHER)

I seldom wear my black and red belt. This is the course in 2010 in which I was awarded Renshi, a title awarded after 4th Dan by Japanese organisations

I seldom wear my black and red belt. This is the course in 2010 in which I was awarded Renshi, a title awarded after 4th Dan by Japanese organisations

I may have been awarded Renshi but was still Reiner's uke

I may have been awarded Renshi but was still Reiner’s uke

My Shotokan teacher Bob congratulating my Goju Ryu teacher Reiner on his 7th Dan

My Shotokan teacher Bob congratulating my Goju Ryu teacher Reiner on his 7th Dan

Craig Bailey Aikijujutsuand Colin Hutchinson - good friends in Budo for over 10 years

Association directors

invited on grading panel by Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido club

Invited on grading panel by Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu Iaido club

Dan Sanchez and Jamie Tozer awarded the first Toshu Jutsu blackbelts in Bushinkai history by me and Bob Carruthers

Dan Sanchez and Jamie Tozer awarded the first Toshu Jutsu blackbelts in Bushinkai history by me and Bob Carruthers

Dave has trained with Bob Carruthers in Filipino stickfighting, Japanese Iaido, Okinawan Karate, and more. Bob awarded him 4th Dan in 2007

Me and my dad after training with Bob Carruthers in Karate and Escrima

Simon and Dave working qin na

Simon and Dave training outside the garage Dojo

Simon training with John Dang who brings Muay Thai, Taekwondo and southern Chinese Tiger Boxing (Tang family) to Bushinkai

My Kung fu brother John Dang has introduced me to Muay Thai (he was taught by Sken), Jeet Kune Do, Kung Fu and Taekwondo

in about 2010 Bob also introduced me to Abaniko Tres Puntas and his teachers Angelo and Rene

about to fight the Filipino way

escrima

Studying Filipino stick

Studying Filipino stick as grandmasters Rene and Angelo show how it’s done

kev

danknife

my student Kev training at the Shaolin Temple

my student Kev training at the Shaolin Temple

escrimabob

Bob showing the painful side of Abaniko Tres Puntas Escrima

2009bunkai

Teaching a bunkai seminar

2010class

Class of 2010

2010dang

John Dang and myself learning from Reiner

Bob teaching Escrima

Bob teaching Escrima

judokenjutsu

Teaching Kenjutsu in Scarborough

judoscarb

Teaching throws to Judo students in Scarborough

judoscoop

With Judo 3rd dan Tom Craven

2012: 5TH DAN

jujutsudem

Jujutsu demo

jujutsudemo

Jujutsu demo

Sushi before the demo

Sushi before the demo

The circle turns: Simon pictured as a 5th Dan 13 years later performing the same technique

Simon performing kata at Japanese festival

Performing kata at Japanese cultural festival

Performing kata at Japanese cultural festival

Shihan Handyside 8th Dan visiting our Dojo

Shihan Handyside visiting our Dojo

shihan Handyside pays us a visit

shihan Handyside pays us a visit 

Mentor: With Shihan Handyside

Mentor: With Shihan Handyside

Grading in the same Dojo where Grandmaster Chew taught Shihan

Grading in the same Dojo where Grandmaster Chew taught Shihan

seisan

Seisan testing during my 5th Dan grading

Having just passed my 5th Dan

Having just passed my 5th Dan with Shihan Handyside

5th

Senior International instructor Simon Keegan 5th Dan

Simon Keegan 5th Dan

2014dadkick

2014: A fun day’s Karate practice with my dad and my daughter

2014nutpunch

She’s getting the hang of it

Yang style family: Shikon head Steve Rowe, Metal Tiger headteacher David Keegan and Bushinkai chief instructor Simon Keegan

A good friend and excellent Yang style Tai Chi teacher: Sifu Steve Rowe

steve2 pushing

Simon having his Yang style corrected by Sifu Steve Rowe

Simon having his Yang style corrected by Sifu Steve Rowe

dave lesson

Bushinkai's Karate method Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu featured in Martial Arts Illustrated magazine

Bushinkai’s Karate method Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu featured in Martial Arts Illustrated magazine

Main pic on this story is Simon with Liverpool Karate masters Brian McKinley, Terry O'Neill and Alfie Lewis

Simon with Liverpool Karate masters Brian McKinley, Terry O’Neill and Alfie Lewis

alfiedemo

With two of my students Sam and Claus doing a Karate demo for Alfie Lewis, we didn’t have chance to rehearse so all the techniques were off the cuff. Terry O’Neill complimented me on the grappling techniques – a proud moment!

Me and Kicki having some fun with silly flying kicks

Me and Kicki having some fun with silly flying kicks

flying2

2014-2015 – MARTIAL ARTS GUARDIAN 

Cross training in Muay Thai:

thai

...meet the new

sidekick Punch jumping kick jumping elbow elbow

goup2

Simon after training with grandmaster Fumio Demura

Simon after training with grandmaster Fumio Demura in Kobudo

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 18.00.34

Simon and Dan pair up for Karate basics

Simon and Dan pair up for Karate basics

Simon studying Bo

Simon studying Bo

DEMURACERT

Bo training

Bo training

Screen Shot 2015-03-29 at 18.35.14

Demura Sensei in MAG

The Old Ways...

Batto Jutsu with Demura Sensei

demura

With Demura Sensei

Simon and Russ

With fellow Guardian Russ Jarmesty

My research study The Lost Book of Kushanku:

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 16.58.31

spead

Interviewing my mentor Shihan Handyside for MAG

phil

Presenting Shihan with his MAG

My student Kicki Holm in Martial Arts Guardian talking about her training with myself and Hirokazu Kanazawa:

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 16.57.46

 

Proud to share the front page with one of my heroes Patrick McCarthy and my old friend, and UFC fighter Tom Blackledge

Proud to share the front page with one of my heroes Patrick McCarthy and my old friend, and UFC fighter Tom Blackledge

 

Leave a Reply

